When and where is it on?

The Point Square, 5-7 April 2019
http://www.iloveoffset.com/offset-dublin-new-venue/

How many years has it been going?

OFFSET was launched in 2009 in Liberty Hall with 400 people, so this year is extra special as it’s our 10th edition of OFFSET Dublin.

What was the inspiration to start it?

A true ‘labor of love’ that started out as a side project to shine a light on creativity in Dublin, OFFSET was built on passion, dedication and hope at a time when the country was coming out of a recession. Fast forward 10 years and the conference has attracted such creative icons as David Carson, Milton Glaser, Kyle Cooper, Stefan Sagmeister, Shepard Fairey, Louise Fili , George Lois Massimo Vignelli, Jessica Walsh & GMUNK, to grace the stage.

Back in 2008 there was a big black cloud over the Irish economy and over all industries within the design world. The OFFSET founders really wanted to create an event that would act as a beacon of hope and celebration of creativity and to get people back to being motivated in looking to the future. So a decision was made, quite naturally, that OFFSET should reflect their interests – both professional and personal – in terms of speaker choice, but also that how they ran it. That is at the heart of what we still do, the whole process is like a mirror of the core team involved, and hopefully by keeping it honest in that way it makes it unique.

What exciting things can people look forward to?

First of all a new home!! We are moving from The Bord Gais Energy Theatre to the Point Village. It’s a really exciting adventure for us being our 10th birthday to shake things up a bit, and play creative havoc with a new space.

This year we will also see a return of OFFSHOOTS. Due to the fantastic response to the introduction of the OFFSHOOTS programme on Day 1 at OFFSET Dublin 2018 last year, we have decided to expand it across each day for our 10th edition.

Collaborating with the Facebook Art Department we have invited 12 multi disciplinary creatives to give them the opportunity to talk for 10-15 min on a particular project or on a subject that inspires them. The start of each day will kick off with fresh, energetic insights into the practices and passion of 12 inspiring creatives. We will be announcing the full OFFSHOOT programme before the end of February.

We are also introducing a new 3rd “Archive” stage that will pay homage to the ten year OFFSET legacy while also acknowledging the incredible talent that has graced our stage. It’s something we are very proud of.

What opportunities are on offer for those attending?

Offset represents an opportunity to enhance skills, to learn new methods and processes, to engage and interact in discussions and debates on relevant career issues, to network with fellow practitioners and re-ignite passions essential for the development of the creative industries.

Students and recent graduates can expect professional insights into every level of their creative paths. Offset is an opportunity to meet future employers and offers instructions on how to enhance employment through step by step guides in getting internships, crafting a better portfolio, best practice for industry, lectures on design history and portfolio evaluations presented by young professionals, well established designers and legendary figures.

Those at a Third Level Education level, both students and educators, consider attending Offset to be a vital stepping-stone to a career in the creative industries.

Next Gen creatives are a vital part of Offset so we offer great discounts to ensure attending Offset is an affordable investment in your future.

Who will be speaking?

2019 speakers announced so far:

  1. Edel Rodriguez | http://www.iloveoffset.com/edel-rodriguez
  2. Lance Wyman | http://www.lancewyman.com
  3. James Victore | http://www.iloveoffset.com/james-victore
  4. Yuri Suzaki – Pentagram | http://www.iloveoffset.com/yuri-suzuki
  5. Victo Ngai | http://www.iloveoffset.com/victo-ngai
  6. Rich Gilligan | http://www.iloveoffset.com/rich-gilligan
  7. HORT | https://www.hort.org.uk/
  8. John Kennedy – Windmill Lane | http://www.iloveoffset.com/windmill-lane
  9. Ariane Spanier  | http://www.iloveoffset.com/ariane-spanier
  10. Joe Caslin | http://www.iloveoffset.com/joe-caslin
  11. Gillian Hyland | http://www.iloveoffset.com/gillian-hyland
  12. Aaron Duffy | http://www.iloveoffset.com/aaron-duffy
  13. Anna Ginsburg | www.annaginsburg.co.uk
  14. Workgroup | http://www.iloveoffset.com/workgroup
  15. Carol Lambert – Publicis | https://publicis.ie
  16. Steve Simpson | http://www.iloveoffset.com/steve-simpson
  17. Alexander Nowak+Felix Richter – DROGA5 http://www.iloveoffset.com/droga5

What tips would you give to people attending to get the most out of it?

Plan ahead as it’s a lot of content over the 3 days. We publish features online to help assess what might be of most interest to attendees in terms of relevance to their current position but challenge yourself, make sure you check out presentations from speakers from different disciplines. We don’t need to encourage our speakers to engage with our audience, the informal atmosphere is a huge element of the attraction of OFFSET, so make sure you take the opportunity to create new relationships.

How can people book tickets / when does it usually sell out?

Whether you are an experienced professional or a freshly initiated student, OFFSET have got you covered.

  • Tickets available from Ticketmaster or http://www.iloveoffset.com/offset-dublin-tickets/€125 – Student Weekend Ticket (*promo code required)
  • €170 – Recent Graduate (*promo code required)
  • €195 – Early Bird Professional Weekend Group (5+)
  • €235- Early Bird Professional Weekend (ends 28th February)
  • €245 – Professional Weekend Group (5+)
  • €295 – Professional Weekend

*Students, Recent Grads + Pro Groups can take advantage of a discounted rate. Email us at [email protected] for the promo code; please include a scan of your student card. 

Details:

Event: OFFSET Dublin 2019

Venue: The Point Square, North Dock, Dublin 1

Dates:  Friday 5th – Sunday 7th April 2019.
Group Bookings: 01 677 7770

Ticketmaster dedicated line: 0818 719 377

Anything else you’d like to add / we should have asked?

In simple terms, it’s a creative conference split over two days. We curate 3 stages with over 60 hours of content, featuring some 100 speakers in a presentation format with interviews and panels. While each of our speakers can present their work as a potted career overview, it will always have a particular focus on process, explaining their vision or philosophy…essentially whatever makes them tick. We are always blown away by how honest and willing to share they are. The result of which is an incredible insight into their practice beyond what you might expect. The response and impact of this on the audience is remarkable!


If you would like to have your company featured in the Irish Tech News Business Showcase, get in contact with us at [email protected] or on Twitter: @SimonCocking

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This!

Share this post with your friends.