VMWare, StoryStock and Coláiste an Spioraid Naoimh are just some of the names that make up the list of finalists for this year’s IT Leader Awards. The awards organisers and leading ICT representative body in Cork, [email protected], say whittling down the 100+ applicants to just 3 finalists in 6 categories was a challenging task.

John Drury, [email protected] Board Member and Chairman of its Skillnet Programme, spoke of the undertaking, “The judging process never gets any easier. In fact, I would say that year on year it gets tougher as the quality of applicants gets better and the bar is raised even further. We would like to take this opportunity to congratulate the 18 companies that have been selected. They are in the running for the top prizes and to come this far is an achievement in itself and a testament to the work these companies are doing to further the IT industry in the region.

With less than a week to go the excitement is mounting for our Awards ceremony on October 20th”.

The [email protected] IT Leaders Award Finalists:

Category 1: Smart Technology Innovation Award

  • UCC & PlanNet 21 (Enabling Ireland’s Digital University)
  • Dare Technology
  • Solo Energy

Category 2: Tech Training Programme of the Year Award

  • McKesson
  • VMware (Kickstart Programme)
  • McAfee

Category 3: Multinational of the Year Finalists:

  • Stryker
  • Abtran
  • Dell EMC

Category 4: The One to Watch Award

  • Vconnecta
  • Akari Software
  • CIX

Category 5: Excellence in Education Award –

  • Scoil Niocláis National School
  • Presentation Secondary School
  • Coláiste an Spioraid Naoimh

Category 6: Tech Start Up of the Year Award

  • Solo Energy
  • StoryStock
  • Twisted Wrist Wear

2016 winners of the prestigious award which is now in its 11th year include:

–          Smart Technology Innovation Award – Vconnecta

–          George Boole MNC of the Year Award – Johnson Controls

–          One to Watch Award – Spearline Labs

–          Tech Start Up of the Year – Writing for TiNy

–          Excellence in Education – Joint Winners : Rockboro Primary School and Bishopstown Community School

–          Tech Person of the Year – Jerry Sweeney, Cork Internet eXchange

Caroline O’ Driscoll, Chair of [email protected] explained, “Cork’s success in developing a world-renowned technological hub through both commerce and academia should be celebrated. At our Leaders Awards, we want to put the spotlight on Cork and show exactly what the sector has achieved and most importantly what is to come. We have the  talent and without doubt the drive to succeed ; based on recent growth we believe that Cork’s tech workforce could replicate that success again and double in the next 5-10 years.

The sky is the limit for Cork. As industry representatives, we know there is a strong desire amongst the ICT community here for us to succeed and a dedicated willingness to foster & develop Cork’s ICT hub.

One way in which we can do this is by recognising the achievements and the contributions of those in the industry via our Leaders Awards. From global multinationals to schools and start-ups, the awards recognise those who have gone further than most in the use of technology in their respective organisations and businesses.

Our event in October will see leaders of Cork’s IT industry gather to celebrate the best and brightest of the region’s growing IT sector.  The event will showcase the best companies, initiatives and individuals that are helping to make the IT sector in the Cork region one of the fastest growing sectors in Ireland”.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This!

Share this post with your friends.