Preparations for the inaugural DatSci Awards 2016 are now well underway. The DatSci Awards have now announced their list of finalists who have made it to the final stages of the awards.

Each of the 21 finalists are recognised for their contribution to the field of Data Science and technology under six award categories – Data Scientist of the Year, Student of the Year, Team of the Year for Academic Research, Multinational of the Year, Company of the year: Indigenous Irish and Start-up of the Year.

The awards, in association with Next Generation and the National Centre for Applied Data Analytics Research (CeADAR) will take place on the 22nd of September 2016 in the Aviva Stadium and will recognise emerging talent within the data science community, progressively thinking organisations as well as Data Scientists within Ireland. The awards ceremony hopes to address the potential for Ireland to become the European Data Science Hub.

Speaking about the DatSci Awards, Linda Davis, CEO and founder of Next Generation said, ”Ireland is at the forefront of Data Analytics and it is key that we celebrate all the exciting and potential world changing projects that are happening right here. It is really exciting to see what possibilities the use of data analytics can bring to our health, our food, our medicines and our everyday consumer products. I look forward to seeing Ireland evolve as a European hub for data analytics.”

In a conscious effort to give back to the Data Science community – all proceeds from the DatSci Awards event will contribute towards a scholarship for a Master’s programme in Data Science/Business Analytics commencing academic year 2017/2018. Details on the application process will be released after the Awards.

Linda continued, “These awards intend to pay it forward. We want to inspire and support the next generation of Irish based data scientists too. It’s an exciting time and it is important to support the future stars of Irish data science too”.

The list of finalists and categories are listed below:

Data Scientist of the Year (Sponsored by Optum, part of the UnitedHealth Group, Title Sponsor)
– Dave Sheehan, AIB
– Aoife D’Arcy, The Analytics Store
– Maciej Dabroswki, Altocloud
– Vincent Lonij, IBM

Student of the Year (Sponsored by Deutsche Bank)
– Cian Gallagher, Griffith College Dublin
– Sebastien Ruder, NUI Galway
– Mark O’Connell, NUI Maynooth
– Kevin Brosnan, University of Limerick

Team of the Year for Academic Research (Sponsored by Dun & Bradstreet)
– Insight Galway

Multinational Company of the Year Award (Sponsored by Accenture Digital)
– Pramerica
– CarTrawler

Indigenous Irish Company of the Year: (Sponsored by Pegasus)
– Eir
– Core Media
– Corvil

Best Start-up of the Year (Sponsored by CarTrawler)
– Connectors Marketplace
– Kinesis Health Technologies
– Orreco

Tickets are selling out fast but can still be purchased via or by contacting [email protected]

For more information on the DatSci Awards 2016, please visit

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This!

Share this post with your friends.