Starting today, Netflix is launching a new social recommendation feature that allows you to easily, and privately, recommend shows to your friends on Facebook.
When you finish watching something you’ll be asked if you know anyone else who’d like that show and then be prompted to find your friends by connecting to Facebook.
Connecting will not post to Facebook or share what you watch to your friends’ News Feed.
After selecting friends from a row of their pictures, you can add an optional message and then send. Your friends will receive the recommendation the next time they log into Netflix. They can thank you for the recommendation, and if they watch it or add it to their list, Netflix will let you know.
For friends who have not connected Netflix and their Facebook account, they’ll get your recommendation as a private message.
The feature is available on the website, iPad, iPhone, PS3, Xbox, and many set-top boxes and smart TVs. Netflix will be adding additional platforms in the coming months.